Alumni Awards

UNR Med Alumni Chapter

Dr. Kelle Brogan receives award with Mary-Ann Brown and University Provost Kevin Carman

The 2017 Outstanding Alumni Award receipting, Dr. Kelle Brogan '86 (middle) receives her award at the Homecoming Gala. Pictured with Nevada Alumni Council President Mary-Ann (Merlo) Brown '85, '96 M.S. (left) and University Provost Kevin Carman (right).

Every year during Homecoming, the Nevada Alumni Association and the School of Medicine recognize outstanding alumni. Specific to the medical school is the University of Nevada, Reno School of Medicine Outstanding Alumni Award. Please review the award criteria below and submit a nomination. For any questions about this award please feel free to email Shari Netzel, Director of Development for the School of Medicine at


  1. Nominee must be a graduate of the University of Nevada, Reno School of Medicine
  2. Nominee must exemplify extraordinary contribution to the field of medicine which may include, but is not limited to academia, research, community support or volunteerism
  3. Nominee must, by his/her accomplishments, bring distinction to the University of Nevada, Reno School of Medicine
  4. Formal letter of recommendation must be submitted for each nominee
  5. Not more than one recipient will be selected in any one year
  6. Nominations must be received prior to the annual deadline

Previous Recipients

  • 2020: Joseph Hollen, M.D. (two year UNR Med alumnus '76)
  • 2019: Stephanie Ball, M.D.  '85
  • 2018: Matthew L. Boulton, M.D. '87
  • 2017: Kelle Brogan, M.D. '86
  • 2016: Ann Jobe, M.D. '86
  • 2015: Philippe Bishop, M.D. '93
  • 2014: Rubin Saavedra, M.D. '95
  • 2013: Paul Roth, M.D. ‘74
  • 2012: Frieda Hulka, M.D. ‘92
  • 2011: David G. Young, III, M.D. ‘75
  • 2010: Robin Titus, M.D. '81 and Louis Bonaldi, M.D. ‘77
  • 2009: Susan Desmond-Hellman, M.D. '82 and Mark Doubrava, M.D. ‘89
  • 2008: Cheryl Hug-English, M.D. ‘82
  • 2007: Mary Anderson, M.D. ‘77
  • 2006: Paul Roth, M.D. ‘74
  • 2005: Susan Desmond-Hellman, M.D. ‘82

Contact us for more information.