Department of Microbiology and Immunology
Faculty

Department of Microbiology and Immunology

David P. AuCoin Ph.D. David P. AuCoin Ph.D.
Associate Professor; Chair, Department of Microbiology and Immunology
(775) 784-4128
daucoin@med.unr.edu

Targeting microbial antigens for diagnostic and therapeutic applications.

Microbiology and Immunology

Paul Brett Paul Brett Ph.D.
Associate Professor
(775) 784-4109
pbrett@med.unr.edu

Development of vaccines and diagnostics to combat melioidosis and glanders.

Mary Burtnick Mary Burtnick
Associate Professor
775-784-4123
mburtnick@med.unr.edu

Molecular characterization of virulence factors/protective antigens expressed by pathogenic Burkholderia species.

William Courchesne William E. Courchesne Ph.D.
Associate Professor
(775) 784-4113
wcourchesne@med.unr.edu

Molecular and cellular biology of calcium metabolism in the yeast, S. cerevisiae

Marcellene Hollingsworth Marcellene Hollingsworth
Staff Research Associate IV
(775) 784-6253
mhollingsworth@med.unr.edu

Project manager and grant coordinator in the Diagnostics Discovery Laboratory

Liming Huang Liming Huang Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor
(775) 784-7599
huang@med.unr.edu

Design of fluorescent probes, artificial antibodies, nanomaterials, and organic solid materials

Dorothy Hudig Ph.D. Dorothy Hudig Ph.D.
Professor
(775) 784-4430 (office)
dhudig@med.unr.edu

Mechanisms of lymphocyte-mediated cytotoxicity; Antibody-dependent cell-mediated cytotoxicity by natural killer cells

Kenneth Hunter Sc.D. Kenneth Hunter Sc.D.
Professor
(775) 327-5255
khunter@med.unr.edu

Immunoregulation in cancer, infectious and autoimmune diseases; fluorescence-based biosensors

Thomas R. Kozel Ph.D. Thomas R. Kozel Ph.D.
Professor
(775) 784-4124
tkozel@med.unr.edu

Opportunistic infections in HIV/AIDS; biodefense; diagnostics development for global health

Vincent Lombardi Vincent Lombardi Ph.D.
Associate Professor
(775) 682-8278
vlombardi@med.unr.edu

Innate immunity and its contribution to the gut-brain axis in neuroimmune disease

William McCoy William McCoy Ph.D
Adjunct Faculty, Department of Microbiology and Immunology
(630) 621-6921
bmartinez2@med.unr.edu

Biofilm microbiology, chemistry, diagnostics and control especially as they relate to engineered water systems in the built environment

Laura Meadows Laura Meadows
Staff Research Associate III
(775) 784-4122
lmeadows@med.unr.edu

Assistance in theBrett and Burtnick Lab as they work towards the development of novel vaccines for melioidosis

Sujata G. Pandit Ph.D.
Academic Faculty Research Scientist
(775) 784-6251

Generation, purification and characterization of monoclonal antibody libraries for bacterial and viral pathogens that will be utilized for diagnostics and therapeutics in the Diagnostics Discovery Laboratory

Kathryn J. Pflughoeft Kathryn J. Pflughoeft Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor, Department of Microbiology and Immunology
(775) 313-8019
kpflughoeft@med.unr.edu

Simplify the detection of infectious agents by exploiting microbial biomarkers present in host samples

Cyprian Rossetto Cyprian Rossetto Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor
(775) 784-4824
crossetto@med.unr.edu

Gain understanding ofviral encoded factors that facilitate productive lytic and latent replication for herpesviruses

Paul Sumby Paul Sumby Ph.D.
Associate Professor
(775) 784-6105
psumby@med.unr.edu

Identification ofmolecular mechanisms used by the group A Streptococcus to cause humandiseases

Timsy Uppal Ph.D.
Research Scientist
(775) 784-1383
tuppal@med.unr.edu

Interested in understanding the unresolved mechanism of oncogenic KSHV lytic DNA replication and neurotropic ZIKV-associated fetal brain damage

Subhash C. Verma Ph.D. Subhash C. Verma Ph.D.
Associate Professor
(775) 682-6743
scverma@med.unr.edu

Biochemical and recombinant virus approaches to establish the role of viral proteins and DNA elements in the replication andpersistence of the KSHV genome


The University of Nevada, Reno School of Medicine is dedicated to protecting the privacy and security of your medical information. Please do not use email to communicate your personal health information to physicians or other patient care staff.