Fall 2012
Hooded Heroes

synapse: University of Nevada, Reno School of Medicine

Alyce Sutko and Kelsey Worthington get hooded at graduation.

Alyce Sutko, at left, and Kelsey Worthington are the School of Medicine's first dual M.D./MPH graduates. Photos by John Ries.

Class of 2012 completes medical degree

By Anne McMillin, APR

Family, faculty and friends of the Class of 2012 gathered May 18 at Lawlor Events Center in Reno for the annual commencement ceremonies.

The 56 graduating medical students celebrated completion of their undergraduate medical education by receiving their academic hoods and reciting the Hippocratic Oath, which reaffirms their commitment to the medical profession.

Florence Jameson, M.D., director of the Volunteers in Medicine of Southern Nevada clinic and Nevada State Medical Association president, was the guest speaker for hooding.

Of note this year were the first two dual M.D./MPH graduates from the University: Kelsey Worthington, M.D./MPH and Alyce Sutko, M.D./MPH.

In addition to celebrating the graduation of the Class of 2012, the School of Medicine honored several faculty and community members who have supported the philosophy and goals of the medical school and have made significant contributions to the health care field.

Frieda Hulka, M.D.'92, was recognized as the Outstanding Alumna of the Year for her exceptional teaching as adjunct clinical faculty in the anatomy program for the past 12 years, and for her service to the school as a preceptor to medical students in her field of surgery.

H. Donald Clark, M.D., received this year's honors as the Thomas J. Scully Praeceptor Carissimus Award, for serving as a preceptor since 1995. He has mentored and taught medical students in the Introduction to Patient Care and Clinical Reasoning in Medicine courses as well as the third-year pediatric clerkships and served as the clerkship coordinator for the pediatrics department in Reno and as interim pediatrics chair.

Josh Bardin, M.D., earned the Dean's Distinguished Service Award for his outstanding service as a volunteer to the School of Medicine since 2006. He has participated in anatomy lectures and laboratories, demonstrated procedures, assisted students in laboratory exercises and mentored students.

Those recognized as emeriti faculty included Dr. Sachiko de St. Jeor, professor of internal medicine; Caroline Ford, MPH, director of the Center for Education and Health Services Outreach; Dr. William Graettinger, professor of internal medicine; Dr. Joe Hume, professor and former chair of pharmacology; Dr. Kerry Lewis, professor of speech pathology and audiology; and Dr. Grant Miller, professor of psychiatry and behavioral services.

Earlier this spring, the Class of 2012 matched with residency institutions across the nation and will enter specialties ranging from anesthesiology to otolaryngology.

"Our students are conscious of the great need in Nevada for primary care and that is reflected in the nearly 60 percent who have chosen to pursue careers in primary care," said Peggy Dupey, Ph.D., associate dean for admissions and student affairs at the University of Nevada School of Medicine.