Fall 2013
Class Chat

synapse: University of Nevada, Reno School of Medicine

David Zucker


David A. Zucker, M.D. '74, is the recipient of the C.H. Woods Award given to the physician who best demonstrates the art of medicine and caring for patients by the Washoe County Medical Society.


Madeline Waid, M.D. '86, has joined the surgery division at Gifford Medical Center in New Hampshire. After graduating from the University of Nevada School of Medicine, she went on to a general surgery internship at Mary Imogene Bassett Hospital in Cooperstown, N.Y., and an anesthesiology residency at the University of Wisconsin in Madison.

Tracey Delaplain, M.D. '87, was selected for a Nevada Alumni Association Service Award that was presented at the UNR Homecoming Gala on October 23. Her UNR Pack includes Tom Delaplain '86, Patrick Delaplain '10 and Sean Delaplain '13.


Jonathan Lucas, M.D. '94, is the chief deputy medical examiner for San Diego County, Calif. He completed residency from the UCLA anatomic and clinical pathology program and previously worked in the New York City Office of the Chief Medical Examiner.

Eva Liang, M.D. '95, opened Center For Sight in Las Vegas. She is certified by the American Board of Ophthalmology. In 2001, she founded the Sight for Life Foundation which arranges with hospitals and doctors to treat patients at reduced fees.

Michael Koester, M.D. '96, a leader in the area of sports concussions, is the 2013 recipient of the Award of Merit from the National Federation of State High School Associations. A staff physician at the Slocum Center for Orthopedics and Sports Medicine in Eugene, Oregon, Koester specializes in the evaluation and treatment of musculoskeletal injuries and conditions. He is trained in both pediatric and adult sports medicine, but has a special interest in the evaluation and care of injuries in young children and adolescents. He did his pediatric residency at the University of Washington School of Medicine and his primary care sports medicine fellowship at Vanderbilt University.

Stacey Hudson, M.D. '98, was featured on NBCNews.com for a successful balloon sinus surgery. He is an otolaryngologist at Advanced Otolaryngology Associates in Reno. After graduating, he completed residency training at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester Minnesota's Department of Otorhinolaryngology. He is board-certified by the American Board of Otolaryngology.


Vance Alm, M.D., Family Medicine Residency '01, joins the Northern Nevada Medical Group at its new location on South Los Altos Parkway in Sparks.

Gina R. Dapra, M.D., '02, is serving as the 2013 president of the Washoe County Medical Society.

Brandy Hattendorf, M.D., Pediatric Residency '02, was named medical director of non-invasive pediatric cardiology at Miller Children's Hospital Long Beach, Calif.

Jason Webb, M.D. '07, is chief resident, internal medicine at Durham Veterans Affairs Medical Center in North Carolina.

Kyle Yamamoto, M.D. '09, married Carrie Dekoski on May 26, 2013 in Buffalo, New York.


Karen B. Alderfer, M.D. '10, was named chief resident in radiology at Los Angeles County+USC Medical Center.

Patrick Woodard, M.D. '11, signed a multi-year commercialization agreement with Howard University to bring his DocDox innovative health information technology software to market.