Spring 2012
Class Chat

synapse: University of Nevada, Reno School of Medicine

Frederick C. Redfern, M.D.

Frederick C. Redfern, M.D. '83, was named chair of the board of councilors of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons. The board represents orthopaedic surgeons in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, the U.S. military, Puerto Rico, Canada, and four regional orthopaedic societies. Photo courtesy Frederick Redfern


  • Larry Noble, M.D. '73, was recognized by the Washoe County Medical Society with the 2012 C.H. Woods Award.
  • Joan Brookhyser, M.D. '75, was recently appointed as the chief medical officer at the University Medical Center of Southern Nevada in Las Vegas.
  • Louis Bonaldi, M.D. '77, was recognized at the 2011 University of Nevada Homecoming Gala with a Nevada Alumni Association Service award.


  • Kent Elliott, M.D. '82, retired from the U.S. Navy in July 2007 and is currently practicing family medicine with Renown in Reno.
  • Cheryl Hug-English, M.D. '82, was recognized at the 2011 University of Nevada Homecoming Gala with a professional achievement award.
  • Stephen Mandaro, M.D. '82, is now serving as the volunteer part-time medical director for the Capital Region chapter of the American Red Cross.
  • Colleen Lyons, M.D. '85, received National Committee for Quality Assurance recognition status for Physician Practice Connections-Patient Centered Medical Home for her office in Carson City, Aspen Family Medical. Her practice was the second in the state of Nevada to be nationally recognized for providing a patient-centered medical home.
  • Tracey Lane Delaplain, M.D. '87, published two essays in 2010-11, addressing compassionate health care. The first, "For My Son", was published in Blood and Thunder, Musing on the Art of Medicine. The second essay, "Failing" was published in the Journal of General Internal Medicine.


  • Mark Mifflin, M.D. '90, is with the University of Utah School of Medicine where he serves as a professor of ophthalmology, residency director and fellowship preceptor for one of the top cornea and refractive surgery fellowships in the world.
  • Tracey Green, M.D. '91, was named medical director for the Nevada Division of Mental Health and Developmental Services in addition to her role as the state health officer.
  • Cynthia L. Ferrell, M.D. '92, is the director of the pediatric residency program at Oregon Health & Science University.
  • Jonathan Lucas, M.D. '94, has been promoted to Chief Deputy Medical Examiner for San Diego County.
  • Mark Stovak, M.D. '95, has been the program director for the University of Kansas School of Medicine-Wichita sports medicine fellowship program and was recently promoted to be the program director for the family medicine residency program.
  • Lisa M. Lyons, M.D. '97, was recognized at the 2011 University of Nevada Homecoming Gala with a Nevada Alumni Association Service award.
  • Dalia Wachs, M.D. '97, hosts a syndicated medical radio show locally in Las Vegas and nationally on Sirius XM radio.
  • Bryan Young, M.D. '97, is now practicing with the Premier Care Program at Renown Medical Group in Reno, offering a health care model that will offer patients greater access to their primary care physician beyond traditional scheduled office visits.
  • Ann Jurani-Suarez, M.D. '99, has returned to Las Vegas and is currently at the Canyon Gate Medical Group and practicing at the Sunrise clinic.


  • Kirk Bronander, M.D., Internal Medicine Residency '01, was named Healthcare Heroes Educator in 2011 by the Nevada Business magazine.


  • Shahab Mokhtare, M.D., Family Medicine Resident '10, has joined Cenegenics Medical Institute of Las Vegas, a leader in age management medicine.
Share your news with the medical school community. Submit news with a high-resolution photograph to Christina Sarman, director of development.