Department of Pharmacology
Faculty and Staff

Department of Pharmacology

Iain L. O. Buxton Pharm.D. Iain L. O. Buxton Pharm.D.
Regents Professor, Foundation Professor and Chairman
(775) 784-4800
ibuxton@med.unr.edu

Receptor-signal transduction in cardiac and smooth muscle cells. Role of receptor-stimulated phosphoinositide metabolism; agonist-specific regulation of cyclic nucleotide action; role of adenyl purines in myometrial function and hormonal regulation of endothelial cell contractile factors.

Pharmacology

Shailesh Agarwal Ph.D. Shailesh Agarwal Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor
(775) 784-4115
sagarwal@med.unr.edu

Regulation of ion channels and cell signaling by autonomic nervous system in mammalian heart.

Dean Burkin Ph.D. Dean Burkin Ph.D.
Professor; Director, Cellular and Molecular Pharmacology and Physiology Graduate Program
(775) 784-6288
dburkin@med.unr.edu

Role of integrins and integrin signaling in neuromuscular development and disease, and integrin signaling in vascular smooth muscle cell plasticity.

Heather Burkin Ph.D. Heather Burkin Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
(775) 784-6289
hburkin@med.unr.edu

Signaling pathways that regulate stretch induced activation of the human uterine myometrium. Development of therapeutic targets for the treatment of preterm labor.

Gale Craviso Ph.D. Gale Craviso Ph.D.
Professor
(775) 784-4118
gcraviso@med.unr.edu

Interaction of electromagnetic fields with excitable cells; exploring the potential for nanosecond duration electric pulses of high intensity as a new, bioelectric approach for stimulating neural cells.

Ruben K. Dagda Ph.D. Ruben K. Dagda Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
(775) 784-4121
rdagda@med.unr.edu

Regulation of mitochondrial biology and bioenergetics by serine/threonine kinases and phosphatases in neurons and in cardiac cells; new signaling pathways that promote synaptic connectivity; development of alternative therapies to reverse mitochondrial dysfunction in age-related brain diseases.

Tania Das Banerjee Tania Das Banerjee Ph.D., MPH
Research Assistant Professor
(775) 784-1318
tdasbanerjee@med.unr.edu

Regulation of mitochondrial and dendritic homeostasis under neurodegenerative conditions; endocrine system dysregulation as a risk factor for age-related disorders in women

Dayue Darrel Duan M.D., Ph.D. Dayue Darrel Duan M.D., Ph.D.
Professor
(775) 784-4738
dduan@med.unr.edu

Cardiovascular phenomics, functional genomics, proteomics, and phenomics of ion channels, cardiac electrophysiology and pharmacology, hypertension, cardioprotection against ischemia and reperfusion, myocardial hypertrophy and heart failure.

Scott Earley Ph.D. Scott Earley Ph.D.
Professor of Pharmacology
(775) 784-4301
searley@med.unr.edu

Transient receptor potential (TRP) channels in endothelial and smooth muscle cell function.

Yumei Feng Ph.D., M.D. Yumei Feng Ph.D., M.D.
Associate Professor
(775) 784-4116
yumeifeng@med.unr.edu

Neural cardiovascular physiology; the neural mechanisms of hypertension and other cardiovascular diseases including diabetes and obesity.

Robert Harvey Ph.D. Robert Harvey Ph.D.
Professor
(775) 784-4119 (office)
rdharvey@med.unr.edu

Cardiac electrophysiology, cell signaling, and ion channel regulation.

Peter Jones Ph.D. Peter Jones Ph.D.
Associate Professor; Mick Hitchcock Endowed Chair of Medical Biochemistry
(775) 784-1566
peterjones@med.unr.edu
Normand Leblanc Ph.D. Normand Leblanc Ph.D.
Professor
(775) 784-1420
nleblanc@med.unr.edu

Role of ion channels in the regulation of excitation-contraction coupling of cardiac and vascular smooth muscle cells in health and disease.

Cherie Singer Ph.D. Cherie Singer Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Student Affairs
(775) 784-8253
csinger@med.unr.edu

In addition to her role as the Associate Dean, Dr. Singer is an active member of the Pharmacology Department, continuing her research on the molecular mechanisms contributing to inflammatory lung disease.

Loraine Toombs Loraine Toombs
Administrative Assistant
(775) 784-6031
ltoombs@unr.edu
Maria Valencik Maria Valencik Ph.D.
Associate Professor; Basic Science Coordinator, Physician Assistant Studies Program
(775) 784-1389
mvalen@unr.edu

The University of Nevada, Reno School of Medicine is dedicated to protecting the privacy and security of your medical information. Please do not use email to communicate your personal health information to physicians or other patient care staff.