Years 1-2 Directors Committee

Office of Medical Education

Meeting Information: Academic Year 2020-21

The Years 1-2 Directors Committee meets the third Tuesday of every month from 4:00 – 5:30 P.M. as a virtual meeting (online only), unless otherwise specified. The meeting link will be sent via email prior to each meeting.

  • July 21, 2020
  • August 18, 2020
  • September 15, 2020
  • October 20, 2020
  • November 17, 2020
  • December 15, 2020
  • January 19, 2021
  • February 16, 2021
  • March 16, 2021
  • April 20, 2021
  • May 18, 2021
  • 2021 Curriculum Committees Joint Meeting*: Details to be determined
  • 2021 Directors Retreat*: Details to be determined
  • June 15, 2021

*Denotes location and/or schedule changes

Years 1-2 Directors Committee: Membership Academic Year 2020-21

Please note the new Committee Mail List email address:

Years 1 & 2 Block Directors Committee: Membership
Curricular ComponentContentRepresentative
Administrative Longitudinal Administration Dean Burkin, Ph.D. (Director, Basic Science Curriculum)
Kathryn Eckert, M.D. (Director, Clinical Curriculum)
Marcus Erling, M.D., FACP
(Director, Basic Science Curriculum)
Thomas Kozel, Ph.D. (Director, Basic Science Curriculum)
Gillian Moritz, Ph.D. (Director, Basic Science Curriculum)
LWRC Administration Ranna Nash (LWRC)
Clinical Education Clinical Integration Kathryn Eckert, M.D.
David Howard, M.D., Ph.D. (Chair term: 7/2019 - 6/2021)
Lorrel Toft, M.D.
Clinical Reasoning and Decision Making David Fiore, M.D.
Gwen Shonkwiler, Ph.D.
Clinical Skills Advanced Clinical Skills Aaron Dieringer, M.D.
Arthur Islas, M.D.
Catherine McCarthy, M.D.
Practice of Medicine Lisa Calvo, M.D.
Aaron Dieringer, M.D.
Nicole Jacobs, Ph.D.
Preceptorships Aaron Dieringer, M.D.
Academic Microbiology and Immunology Ken Hunter, Sc.D. (Microbiology)
Paul Sumby, Ph.D. (Immunology)
Pathology Daniel Mockler, Sc.D.
Pharmacology Dean Burkin, Ph.D. (Pharmacology)
Kevin Facemyer, Ph.D.
Vacant (Genetics)
Physiology and Cell Biology Greg Highison, Ph.D. (Histology)
Brian Perrino, Ph.D. (Cell Biology)
Carl Sievert, Ph.D. (Anatomy)
Chris von Bartheld, M.D. (Neuroscience)
Vacant (Physiology)
Behavioral Health Anayansi Lombardero, Ph.D. (Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences)
Ethics Robert Fulbright, J.D., M.A.
Interprofessional Education Jill Packman, Ph.D.
Research Danielle Eaton (Office of Medical Research)
Student Representatives
Rodney Fong (Class of 2024) Medical Student Year 1 9/2020 - 6/2021
Lauren Lim (Class of 2024) Medical Student Year 1 9/2020 - 6/2021
Dani Green (Class of 2023) Medical Student Year 2 8/2020 - 6/2021
Ian Laughrey (Class of 2023) Medical Student Year 2 8/2020 - 6/2021
Administrative Support
Lisa Calvo, M.D. Office of Medical Education Interim Associate Dean, Medical Education
Kirk Bronander, M.D. Internal Medicine - Reno Chair, Years 3-4 Committee
David Carlson, M.D. Office of Graduate Medical Education Assistant Dean, Graduate Medical Education
Tim Baker, M.D. Office of Academic Affairs Senior Associate Dean, Academic Affairs
Brady Janes, Ph.D. Office of Medical Education Director, Curriculum Assessment and Development
Cherie Singer, Ph.D. Office of Admissions and Student Affairs Associate Dean, Admissions and Student Affairs
Mary Shultz Savitt Medical Library Director, Library
Amy Smith, Ph.D. Office of Continuous Institutional Assessment Director, Office of Continuous Institutional Assessment